Panko Crusted Tilapia

crustedtilapia4

If you are running low on time to make dinner, make fish!  My easy way of crusting tilapia is super fast and simple.  The fish cooks in about 15 minutes and is fancy enough to serve company too.  I served it here with sauteed green beans and orzo with parmesan cheese and olive oil.

The tilapia is flaky and light and it’s paired perfectly with  crunchy Japanese bread crumbs, called panko.

crustedtilapia1

Tilapia is one of my favorite fish to serve my family.  Mostly because it is so easy to cook and is mild-tasting.  Tilapia will pretty much taste like whatever you flavor it with.  Where I live, it’s difficult to get fish fresh, so I buy my fish frozen.  I buy it individually vacuum-sealed and they defrost easily and are ready to cook.

crustedtilapia2

Instead of doing to classic 3-step dredge of flour, beaten egg and breadcrumbs, I go straight to the breadcrumbs.   First, I pour about 2 cups of panko into a bowl and shake some lemon pepper seasoning and garlic salt into it.  I then melt some butter and brush it on each of the fillets.

crustedtilapia3

Then, I sprinkle the panko onto the fish and press down gently with the palm of my hand to make sure the breadcrumbs stick to the fish.   The butter gives the fish richness and the panko does not overwhelm the delicate flesh of the fish.  Perfect for a weeknight meal or a weekend dinner with company.

Panko Crusted Tilapia

4 tilapia fillets

2 cups panko breadcrumbs

1 tsp lemon pepper

1 tsp garlic salt

2 Tb butter, melted

Lay fish on shallow baking sheet pan and pat dry with a paper towel.  Brush the melted butter evenly on the fillets.  Add the panko, lemon pepper and garlic salt in a bowl and toss to combine.  Spread the panko evenly on all four pieces of tilapia and press down gently with the palm of your hand, making sure the breadcrumbs stick on well.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until done.

16 thoughts on “Panko Crusted Tilapia

  1. Hi Karen,
    I’m actually going to try this tonight. I’ll let you know how I do. 🙂

    Your site is really beautiful!

    Mandy

  2. I am going to try it tonight. Love your site. I have found lots that I want to try. I’m a type 1 diabetic, so I have to be very careful of carbs and fat. Your site offers me lots of choices.

  3. I’ve made this dish a few times for my family and it was a hit! Thank you for the super easy and tasty recipe.

  4. This was good. I made it today. I did add some crushed red pepper for some heat. I also toasted the panko crumbs.

  5. Pingback: Meal planning

Leave a comment