Strawberry Shortcake Skewers

When I saw these adorable skewers on Lady Behind the Curtain, they were just too cute to pass up.  I had to make these for my daughter’s tea party!  They are made with pre-made biscuit dough so it’s super easy too.

Roll out one piece of refrigerated biscuit dough to about a 5 inch circle and cut into 1 1/2 inch circles.  Each one should give you 7 circles.  Make sure you use your handy-dandy homemade circle cutter.

Yes, this circle cutter was made by my Dad.  First let me explain the type of guy my dad is.  He can make ANYTHING!!  Really, he’s a general contractor by trade, but a mad scientist in the workshop. He whipped up this little cutter and just soldered it together and voila, I have a cookie cutter!

Place the the biscuit circles on parchment paper and brush with an egg wash and sprinkle each one with sugar.

They are done when they’re a nice golden brown, about 10 minutes.

Now prepare the strawberries.  First wash and dry all the berries.  Cut the tops off.

Then the small end.

Then slice in half, giving you two strawberry circles.

I stacked them together and the kept each of the two pieces together, so it would look more uniform on one skewer.

I cut my skewers down in size to about 6 inches so they would look nicer.  You don’t have to do that.

Now just start layering with the biscuit, whipped cream and strawberries.

Start and end with a biscuit.  Easy peasy.  It was fun to make and even more fun to eat.  These were a hit at the tea party and they are fun to slide right off and pop into your mouth.

Strawberry Shortcake Skewers

Adapted from Lady Behind the Curtain

Biscuit Rounds:

1 can of grands biscuits

1 egg white

1 tablespoon water

sugar for sprinkling

20 large strawberries, 2 slices per strawberry

Cream:

2 cups heavy cream

½ jar marshmallow fluff

3 tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

On a lightly floured surface, roll a biscuit into a 5-inch circle.

Cut 7 – 1-1/2 inch circles and place on a cookie sheet sprayed with non stick cooking spray.

Whisk together the egg white and water.  Brush on each biscuit and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake 10 minutes or until golden brown.

While the biscuits are baking prepare the strawberries.  Cut two 1/2 inch slices from each strawberry.  I also kept the two slices stacked on themselves, so I could use the same strawberry for one skewer.  This way they fit together better.  Once the biscuits are baked, transfer to a cooling rack and let them cool completely before constructing the skewers.  Then start layering; biscuit, strawberry, whipped cream.  Do this twice ending with a third biscuit on top.  One can of biscuits made 20 skewers.  That’s WITHOUT using the scraps.  If you use the scraps you’ll need to adjust the ingredients for extra.

Cream:

In a stand mixer with a whisk attachment, combine the heavy cream and sugar and beat until firm peaks form.  Add half a jar of marshmallow fluff until just combined.

113 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake Skewers

  1. Karen- We are a small, non-sponsored blog, who posted your photos on our blog as a cute idea for a dessert. We thought that citing your site as the site to follow for directions and visuals would create traffic for you and did not intend to take credit for the photos. We also do not have nor have ever joined Pinterest in order to avoid not “giving credit where credit is due.” We will happily remove the old post but are fearful that “Karen in the Kitchen” will then receive no credit. We apologize for any trouble or angst this may have caused you-as our intentions were just to show how your treats came out.
    Kris of “inyourbackpocket.blogspot.com”

    1. Kris,
      Thanks for making me aware of your post of my pics. I appreciate your honesty. Feel free to keep the post on your site. Your link to my site has definitely increased traffic on my blog!

    1. Kathi,
      I’ve always made whipped cream and used it right away. There is a possibility of the cream collapsing and getting watery. There is a product you might want to try that will keep your whipped cream stiff for days. It is a stabilizer. It’s a German product called: “WHIP IT” by OETKER. I have found it in the baking aisle at some grocery stores, as well as Cost Plus World Market stores. Hope that helps you!

      1. Will try to find this “Whip It”. We live on Aruba and I am hard-pressed to find something that won’t melt! I hope this works! Going to try the Marshmallow and whipped cream, too. (*Yes, I also found your site as a result of Kris’ pin. Don’t know what the big deal is with those who oposed it!

      2. If you can’t find Whip It, try using one teaspoon of cream of tartar. That should help the whipped cream to not bleed water after sitting too long. Hope that helps.

  2. Strawberry shortcake is my favorite dessert. I can’t wait to make these with my Granddaughter. I know they won’t last very long at our house!

      1. If you dissolve 1/4 tsp of knox gelatin in one tbs of boiling water then add it to the whipped cream it will produce stabilized whipped cream and is much cheaper than the store bought stuff. I use it 1 tbs disolved to one cup of whipping cream.

      2. I use Knox unflavored gelatin (dry) about a level TBLS per quart of heavy cream…. Really helps to stabilize the cream!

  3. Have you ever used ready whip or cool whip? How does it hold up?

    Thanks, can’t wait to make these beauties! 🙂

  4. Your Dad sounds like Mine. I have a cast iron pancake griddle that fits across both burners on the stove that he cast when he was working in a foundry. He could make/fix anything!

  5. These look amazing!
    Did you have any problems with the biscuits breaking when you put the skewers through them?

    Thanks.

  6. These are so adorable and delicious! I used 1 tablespoon gelatin dissolved in 2 tablespoons hot water per 1 cup of cream and after it was set up, I used about 1/4 cup of marshmallow fluff. The cream held up overnight! Thank you for sharing!

  7. Can you use the whipped cream without the marshmallow fluff and will it stay -I want to use this so bad but dont eat marshmallows due to the gelatin content. Thanks for a fantastic idea!

    1. Yes, you can use whipped cream, but it will probably not hold up as well without the marshmallow. When whipped cream sits too long, it will start to leech water out, so make it and eat it right away!

    2. The marshmallow fluff I purchased does not contain gelatin as it’s a spread. The gelatin is used to form actual marshmallows to keep their shape. I would check the ingredient labels on what is available in your area. 🙂

  8. Made these yesterday, but had problems with the strawberries staying on the skewer,
    most of the berries were somewhat hollow in the center (I did not core them) so there was nothing to keep them tight on the stick. Any suggestions?

    1. I did not have that problem. Mine stayed in place because they were sandwiched between the whipped cream and biscuit. Maybe you can try pressing them a bit tighter between the layers or place them between layer of cream. Good luck!

  9. Where do u buy marshmallow fluff ..? When I make banana caramel cream pie I use 2-3 teaspoons of desert whip in cream keeps cream from watering

  10. I went to the grocery store today and noticed there was a 7oz jar of marshmallow fluff and also a 13oz jar. Which size did you use for this recipe? Thanks!

  11. I just made these, haven’t even clean up the kitchen yet, but I’m soooo excited to tell you that I found a new cool whip product that totally elimates the need to make the whipped cream. It’s called Cool Whip Frosting and it’s found in the freezer section. It tastes just like whipped cream but doesn’t get watery or melt! It comes in vanilla and cream cheese flavors. I used the cream cheese flavor and, oh…my…goodness!!! Yum!
    These are easy to make and so delicious that I hope there’s some for the baby shower I made them for!

    THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU!

    1. Marcie, I’m so glad I found your comment! How much of this frosting did you buy (and how many kabobs did you make?) Thanks!

  12. Can these be made a day in advance? I’m having a BBQ on Saturday but have so many other things to prep that morning, would love to make these the day before.

  13. I am writing a blog post about unique ideas for birthday cakes for babies. I am linking to your recipe and was wondering if I could use a photo of your skewers in the post? I think these would make such a cute idea for a baby’s birthday cake! Thanks so much!

    1. Heather, what did you do with the cream? It worked very well for me. It may not work well if you made the whipped cream in advance. There is a stabilizer that you can use so that the cream does not get watery.

  14. I have been seeing these all over pinterest and finally decided to open the link up. I am having a birthday party Saturday with tons of foods on skewers, thought I’d give it a try but too scared with the time issue (whipped cream). So, I think I will pass for the party but definitely try it out for friends & family soon. The comments left from others, really do help. Thank you again Karen for the creation & the beautiful pictures. I’m a picture person.

  15. Pingback: Lady From USA
  16. Hi Karen! My name is Alex and I’m a writer at DailyBurn Life, a health and fitness editorial website. This recipe looks so delicious! I’d love to share it with our readers by including it in an upcoming article. If you can email me at alex@dailyburn.com for more details, that would be great!

    Best,
    Alex

  17. Hi Karen!

    We love this recipe and are including it in a healthy Valentine’s Day guide for our Noom Coach users. With your permission, we would like to repost your picture with a brief description and link back to your blog for the recipe. If you’d like anything else included, please let me know!

    Best,

    Clare
    .

      1. Thanks so much, Karen! I’ll make sure to leave a reply when the article is live so you can check it out!

  18. Pingback: Weekly Love

Leave a comment