Cranberry White Chip Oatmeal Cookie

 

I love making this cookie around Christmas time, mostly because of the beautiful holiday colors.  That’s not to say they aren’t good any time of year too.  I make this when I’m tired of chocolate chip cookies.  “Tired of chocolate chip cookies, are you crazy?!” you say? Yes, it is possible.

Cranberries are my favorite dried fruit to use in baking.  Red is my favorite color, so I guess that would make sense. The real reason is that cranberries have such a great sour sweet flavor.  It reminds me of eating sour tart candies as a kid, except these are actually good for you.  And what’s even more fun is that a raw cranberry actually bounces, like a ball, which also reminds me of childhood. Oh………the good ol’ days!!

 

Cranberry White Chip Oatmeal Cookie

¾ cup softened butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

½ cup firmly packed brown sugar

½ cup sugar

1 ½ cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

½ cup crisp rice cereal

½ cup white vanilla chips

½ cup sweetened dried cranberries

½ cup rolled oats

 

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a stand mixer, combine butter, vanilla and egg; beat well.  Add both sugars and combine until smooth. Add flour, baking powder and salt a little at a time.  When incorporated, add cereal, vanilla chips, cranberries and oats.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto sprayed cookie sheets.

Bake for 9-12 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Cool 1 minute.  Remove from cookie sheets.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cranberry White Chip Oatmeal Cookie

  1. …and I will be making these tomorrow as well (in addition to the chocolate ones i commented on a moment ago)!
    such a great blog, i’m glad i got here! thanks : )

Leave a comment