Old-Fashioned Apple Crisp

If I had an old-fashioned American grandmother, I imagine this apple crisp is something she would make for a comforting dessert.

But, since I don’t I had to make this myself!

This crisp is so easy to throw together.  It hits the right spot if you are craving something warm, gooey and crunchy all at the same time.  It would be even better with some vanilla ice cream on top!

The granny smith’s tartness and firm texture lends itself well to this dessert.  It really holds up to the one hour baking time.  The apples maintain a firm bite, which I was happy about.  The sweet and  crisp topping is also a great complement to the apples.

 

 

Start with peeling 8 granny smith apples.

 

 

I love my apple slicer.  It really makes this process a whole lot faster.

Look!  I’ve made my apple into a flower………so pretty, and edible!

 

 

Add in the citrus zest and spices.

 

 

Mix it all up and let the flavors get comfortable with each other.

I’m not sure why I did not take a picture of the topping on the apples, but I imagine it could be because I was too eager to get this in the oven.  After all, it has to bake for an hour.

Desserts like this make me want to plant an apple tree in my backyard.  That’s how good it is!!

 

 

Old-Fashioned Apple Crisp

Adapted from Ina Garten

 

5 pounds granny smith apples (about 8 apples)

Grated zest of 1 orange

Grated zest of 1 lemon

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

 

For the topping:

1 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 pound cold unsalted butter, diced

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9×13 by 2-inch baking dish.

Peel, core, and cut the apples into large wedges then cut each wedge in half. Combine the apples with the zests, juices, sugar, and spices. Pour into the dish.

To make the topping, combine the flour, sugars, salt, oatmeal, and cold butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on low speed until the mixture is crumbly and the butter is the size of peas. Scatter evenly over the apples.

Place the crisp on a sheet pan and bake for 1 hour until the top is brown and the apples are bubbly. Serve warm.

Leave a comment