Homemade Cranberry Sauce

The second I tasted this cranberry sauce, I asked myself, “Why in the world have I been buying canned cranberry sauce all these years?”

I don’t really talk to myself………..at least not out loud.

This Thanksgiving, I am challenging myself to make as much of my dishes from scratch as I possibly can, so I started with the cranberries.  This sauce will change the way you see cranberries forever!  The sweet and tart flavor just begs to be slathered on some warm savory turkey.  I also love the vibrant color.  It reminds me that Christmas is just around the corner.

 

 

I just love this combination of flavors and fall colors and I think you will too!

 

Homemade Cranberry Sauce

From pioneerwoman.com

1 bag (12 oz. bag) cranberries

1 cup cranberry juice (or orange, apple or any other juice combination)

1 cup pure maple syrup

3 tbsp orange zest

Wash bag of cranberries under cool water, then dump into a medium saucepan.

Pour in 1 cup of cranberry juice (or whatever juice you choose).

Pour in 1 cup maple syrup.

Add orange zest.

Stir together and turn heat on high until it reaches a boil.

Once it comes to a rolling boil, turn the heat down to medium low and continue cooking over lower heat for about 10 minutes, or until the juice is thick.

 

Leave a Reply

