Curried Butternut Squash Soup

This is the a perfect soup for the cool autumn weather………..we should be having.  In my town, we are experiencing temperatures in the 80’s, no joke!  I know, it’s so wrong.

Even though the calendar says autumn, the weather says summer.  But, I say “soup!”  I wait for the cool weather all year, just so I can make soup and by golly, I did.  Regardless of the weather, this soup is still very tasty and simply easy to make.

It took me a long time to reach out and buy a butternut squash.  It just looks kind of odd and I was unsure of the flavor, but my fears were calmed after I had this soup for the first time.  It is velvety in your mouth and the pops of curry and thyme keep it interesting.  I also just love the color, like autumn in a bowl!

 

Curried Butternut Squash Soup

2 butternut squash (medium size)

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger root

3 bay leaves

1 tablespoon curry powder

1 teaspoon fresh thyme

1 teaspoon salt

4 cups reduced sodium chicken broth

1/2 cup half and half

Melt butter in a large soup pot over medium heat. Stir in the onion, garlic, ginger, curry powder, thyme, bay leaves and salt. Cook and stir until the onion is soft, about 10 minutes.

Cut squash in half lengthwise; discard seeds and membrane.  Cut into cubes and add to pot.

Pour the chicken broth into the pot, and bring to a boil.  Cover and cook an about 30 minutes.

Remove the bay leaves and ladle the soup into a blender, filling the pitcher no more than halfway full. Remove the small cover insert from your blender lid and hold down the lid with a folded kitchen towel, and carefully start the blender. Puree in batches until smooth.

Return the soup to the pot, stir in the half and half, and reheat.  For garnish, drizzle half and half with sprinkle of thyme leaves on top of soup.

Serves 8-10

 

4 thoughts on “Curried Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I used a butternut squash for the first time this year, too! I cubed it and roasted it for pasta. Yummy! And quite filling, I might add. This sounds good, too! Where is your recipe from?

    • Sheri,
      I actually read a couple recipes on line and added and deleted some items to make it my own. I really like the curry flavor, with the thyme. The ginger also adds a good zing. I’ve made this for friends and everyone loves it!

  2. Oh, even better that it’s your own!🙂 How do you think it’d taste without the ginger? I know it’s probably an integral part of the recipe, but I have a ginger aversion (*gasp!* a Chinese girl not into ginger?!? never have been!). Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

