Layered Chicken Enchilada

 

I love Mexican food and one of my favorite items is the enchilada.  Until I tried to make them myself, I didn’t realize that each one of those tasty rolled-up tortillas was dipped into hot oil so they don’t crack when being rolled.  Wow, talk about unnecessary calories!

This is why I decided to lay the tortillas flat and remove oil from the list of ingredients altogether. This layered style is just as tasty and you really get the same flavors and I bet you won’t miss the oil one bit.  Over time, I decided to add the beans and corn for some more color and texture.

My kids love enchilada night, except their plates are dotted with the  beans and corn when they’re done eating.  That’s what I get, trying to hide something nutritious in their food!

 

Layered Chicken Enchilada

1 package white corn tortillas

3 chicken breasts, shredded

1 large can (28 oz) green enchilada sauce

1 small can (4 oz) diced green chiles

1 can (15 oz) whole kernel corn, drained

1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained

shredded cheddar cheese

 

Toppings

shredded lettuce

chopped tomatoes

sour cream

salsa

 

Bake chicken breasts in the oven at 350F for about 30 minutes or until cooked through.  Allow to cool, then shred and add to a bowl with 1 cup of enchilada sauce, salt and pepper.

Pour enough enchilada sauce into a 9×13 glass baking dish to coat the bottom.  Pour half the can of sauce into a bowl and dip each tortilla into the sauce to coat.  Layer the bottom of the dish.  Next, add some green chiles, chicken, corn, beans and then cheese.  Repeat the layers until the dish is full or you run out of ingredients.  Finish the last layer with tortillas and the remaining enchilada sauce and cover the top with cheese.

Bake at 350F for 30 minutes, or until bubbly and warmed through.

Let sit for about 10 minutes.  Plate with your choice of lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream and salsa.

 

 

