A Valentine’s Day Breakfast

Guest Chef:  My hubby.

This is what my sweetheart made for me this morning, on Valentine’s Day

These waffles look very romantic to me.  I think it’s the color of the berries on top, the powdered sugar, and of course the the fact that my hubby made them for me!  I know it sounds as if I’m painting a very romantic picture of a Valentine’s breakfast with the just the two of us at the table with candlelight and music…………………so NOT true!

The kids are at the table in their pajamas and we happen to have company visiting too (sister and brother-in-law, Anne and Aaron).  It was a busy morning in the kitchen with kids running around, the waffle iron with drips of batter all over the counter and trying to get it all on the table while it’s still morning!

Nevertheless, I took a moment to enjoy the fact that my hubby made these waffles for me, on Valentine’s Day.

I hope you are able to spend today with a loved one!  And if not, make these waffles.  I know it’ll make you feel warm and lovely on the inside.

 

Waffles

From Better Homes and Gardens

1-3/4  cups  all-purpose flour

2  tablespoons  sugar

1  tablespoon  baking powder

1/4  teaspoon  salt

2    eggs

1-3/4  cups  milk

1/2  cup  cooking oil or butter, melted

1  teaspoon  vanilla

1. In a medium bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in center of flour mixture; set aside.

2. In another medium bowl beat eggs slightly; stir in milk, oil, and vanilla. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be slightly lumpy).

3. Pour 1 to 1 1/4 cups batter onto grids of a preheated, lightly greased waffle baker (use a regular or Belgian waffle baker). Close lid quickly; do not open until done. Bake according to manufacturer’s directions. When done, use a fork to lift waffle off grid. Repeat with remaining batter. Serve warm.

4. Makes 12 to 16 (4-inch) waffles

5. Buttermilk Waffles:Prepare as above, except reduce baking powder to 1 teaspoon and add 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. Substitute 2 cups buttermilk or sour milk for the milk.

Leave a Reply

