Pork Potstickers

 

Italians have the ravioli, Argentina the  empanada, Poland the pierogi, and the Chinese have the wonderful POTSTICKER or guo tie/jiao zi (for my Chinese friends out there).

 

Here is the classic potsticker I grew up eating. Whenever my parents would make these, our kitchen would turn into a Chinese potsticker factory. Because it was such a task, they always made more than we were going to eat that day.  My parents would freeze extras on trays and we would always have a stockpile in the freezer, ready to go. Our freezer was not your typical American freezer with frozen waffles and ice cream. No…….we had whole fish frozen in mid swim, fish balls, Chinese sweet sausage, and of course bags and bags of potstickers.

I remember learning a new part of the process each year as I got older.  When I was really little, I was only allowed to be the water dabber (that step comes later).  I graduated to spooning the filling onto the wrapper and when I was a teenager, my dad took we under his wing and showed me the art of folding the potsticker.  It was an exciting day!  Of course my sad, long, flat looking dumpling looked nothing like his stately plump ones.  But, as you’ll see from the following pictures, I mastered it at last.

 

This the filling.  Notice the ground pork has a good marbling of fat.  My local grocery store has prepackaged ground pork that is too lean and has no fat.  I make a special trip to the Asian grocery store to stock up on my ingredients when I make these potstickers.

This filling is succulent and turns out so juicy after they’re cooked because of the cabbage in it. Of course the pork fat doesn’t hurt either.

 

This is my mini-potsticker factory. Everything is strategically placed for ease of wrapping these delicious bundles of meat filling.

 

Dab your finger into the bowl of water and make a wet ring around the potsticker wrapper.

 

Pinch the center points together.

 

I start from the right side and fold and pinch for a puckered effect.

 

Fold and pinch the left side.

 

Here’s the cute puckered back side.

 

If you’re counting, there are 60 potstickers on this tray.  I had to use another tray to fit the rest.  Two packages of wrappers make about 100 potstickers.

 

 

 

Here they are getting pan fried.

 

I tipped them over to show you their lovely brown, crunchy bottoms. That’s the best part.

They’re all nice and juicy, just ready for a swim in my dipping sauce.

 

Pork Potstickers

2 pounds ground pork

1 head cabbage

4 green onion, chopped

2 Tbsp grated ginger

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 Tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp pepper

2 packages of dumpling wrappers

vegetable oil

 

Dipping sauce

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 Tbsp sesame oil

2 Tbsp rice vinegar

1/2 tsp pepper

chili sauce (optional)

sesame seeds (optional)

 

Start by cutting the head of cabbage into quarters and boil in a pot, with enough water to cover the cabbage.  When leaves are wilted and cooked through, drain it and let cool before handling. Squeeze all the excess water out and chop into fine dice. It’s very important to get all the water out, or else you’ll have a watered down, loose filling.

Add cabbage to a large bowl with all the other ingredients. Mix well until incorporated. Spoon a rounded tablespoon of filling into middle of wrapper.  Dab a ring of water around wrapper and begin wrapping.

To cook the potstickers, start with enough vegetable oil to coat the bottom of your pan.  Place potstickers in flat side down. Wait for bottoms to brown. Add a quarter cup of water to the pan and quickly put a lid on the pan to allow the potstickers to steam until all the liquid is gone, about 3-4 minutes or until cooked through.

Mix dipping sauce ingredients in a small bowl and dip the potstickers.  Enjoy!!

5 thoughts on “Pork Potstickers

  1. Karen, you are truly amazing!!! I am salivating as I look at all the yummy goodies you have on your blog. I have a request…. I hope you have this recipe in your amazing cookbook. Out of the blue, my sister asks if I know how to make bread pudding? I’ve never had any let alone know how to make it. Sooooo, if you could find the time/recipe please teach me?!? :)

    Thanks so much!

    Missy

  2. Pingback: The Year of the Dragon | Karen in the Kitchen

  3. Hi Karen,
    I’m probably not your normal website visitor( 6ft tall metal head with a mohawk XD). But I love to cook, and your website has the best collection of recipes that fall into comfort food plus slightly exotic recipes, put those two together and it’s everything I could ask for. One question, when you cook the potstickers, you first cook them with the oil to brown the bottom, but the water you add afterwards to steam them; you drain the oil first, right? I’m just making sure, since I’ve never cooked these before, but I am addicted to the one that the chinese restaurant down the street sells. Anyways, I’m guessing you drain the oil, cause if not, the water will explode when it hits the pan.

    • Hi Cesar,
      I’m very glad you’re enjoying my site! That’s a great question about the oil and water. I do not go through the trouble of removing the oil. You want to quickly add the water and cover it with the pan lid immediately so it doesn’t have a chance to splatter up at you. The water will steam and cook the meat inside. Once the water is gone, keep the potstickers in a little bit longer to bring the crispiness back to the browned bottoms.
      Hope that helped. Let me know if you have any other questions I can help with!

      Karen

Leave a Reply

